DI Library: History of the Built Environment I (ID 108): Welcome

About This Guide

This guide was created to provide students with books and websites on for the History of the Built Environment I and organized by region and style. Navigate this guide using the topics on the left.

Oudry, J. (1754–56). Four upholstery panels for a settee [Photograph]. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, NY, United States. This image is in the public domain.

Examples for Notebook Project: Ancient Civilizations
This document from the DI Library helps you track your examples for ancient civilizations.
Examples for ID 108 Notebook Project: Middle Ages
This document from the DI Library helps you track your examples for Medieval civilizations
Examples for Notebook Project: Post-Medieval
This document from the DI Library helps you track your examples for Post-Medieval civilizations
Annotated Bibliographies
This document from the DI Library explains what an annotated bibliography is and how to create one.
Research Journal for Notebook Project
This document from the DI Library provides information about how to use a research journal, search tips, and pages to record notes about your search process and the sources and images you find.

Textbook Available Online - login required

History of Interior Design, 2nd edition (ebook) by Jeannie Ireland
Covers interior design, architecture, and decorative arts throughout history and around the world. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

DI Library Catalog

Search the DI Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, magazines, journals, films, and other materials held by the DI Library

Top Online Picks

Ebooks, articles, essays, and museum publications

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History | Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
Includes more than 1,000 essays on a wide range of topics, including artists, materials, movements, and themes, and more than 8,000 works from the museum's collection.

Ebook Central: Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Over 150,000 scholarly ebooks on a wide variety of academic subjects

Getty Publications Virtual Library
More than 300 books to read and download for free
MetPublications Online
The full contents of over 1400 out-of-print titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF for free. Publication records also include links to related essays on the Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History.

Art, Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts, and citations for current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts (requires login).
The Art, Design & Architecture Collection includes current full-text journals along with three indexes with article abstracts and citations: ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design & Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts), and International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on western art history).

Images

The Art Institute of Chicago Collections
Digital Imaging Project for Architecture
Outdated web design but great images
Getty Museum Collection
Under Advanced Search, check "Open Content Program" to limit search results to open-access images
LACMA Collections
Check "Show public domain images only" to limit search results to open-access images
The Museum of the Home
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection
The Met collection includes more than 490,000 objects spanning over 5,000 years of art from around the world. You can limit your search results to Artworks With Images. Check Open Access to limit search results to images free of copyright restrictions.
V&A Museum Collections

See More

Find Course Reserve Materials
Use the catalog to search course reserves by course number, course name, or the name of your professor.
Guide to Citing Sources
The DI Library's guide to citing sources informally as well as using APA, Chicago or MLA style