NCIDQ Exam Preparation

Provides a process for calculating materials and estimating the costs of installed products for both commercial and residential design projects, with step-by-step examples and worksheets to simplify the math. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Considers building sites, structural systems, water and waste systems, heating and cooling systems, indoor air quality, electrical and lighting systems, fire safety, and acoustics.

A guide to research-based programming for interior design projects. Print copy also available (Call Number: NK 2116 .B68 2017). Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Provides a collection of essays that seek to examine the shifting role of interior architecture and interior design, and their importance and meaning within the contemporary world, covering a wide range of thought and research. Available through Bloomsbury Architecture Library and ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Discusses scientific principles, research, applications, and emerging trends in technology. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Offers an introduction to using graphic tools and drafting conventions to translate architectural ideas into effective visual presentations, using drawings to illustrate the topic effectively.

A standards-based foundation in drafting for beginning interior design students. Includes NCIDQ and NKBA standards. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Offers step-by-step instructions on drafting interior construction details, whether by hand or digitally using programs such as AutoCAD and Revit. Code compliance notes are included throughout. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Examines project management throughout the design process for commercial interiors, from strategic planning and site selection to post-occupancy duties

Examines the use of textiles and other materials in interior design. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Covers the entire lighting design process, including perception and vision, light and health, psychological factors, color and measurement of light, natural and artificial light sources, luminaries and controls, sustainable design, and more

Covers codes relevant to interior design, including textile standards and testing

Covers lighting design concepts, techniques, and realistic goals to guide new designers and students through the process of creating simple, typical lighting designs and effectively collaborating with professional designers on more complex projects.

Provides a step-by-step approach to planning commercial spaces, from the first bubble diagrams to final floor plans.

Explores business organization, legal and ethical issues, and business finance and accounting practices common to the profession. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Note: The DI Library has the newer 4th edition in print. This 3rd edition is available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Covers drafting fundamentals, types of plans and schedules, and details of commercial and residential interiors.

Provides information about establishing your own firm, different business types and structures, managing a design team, business planning, pricing, project management, working with vendors, financial management, and more. Print copy also available (Call Number: NK 2116 .K57 2013). Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

A practical approach for specifying fabrics. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Provides an introduction to the discipline of environmental psychology.

Explores the interaction between environments and human behavior, highlighting how differences in age, gender and cultural background influence that interaction. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Covers drawings, sketches, renderings, models, presentation boards, portfolios, and résumés, with examples of each

Explains the relationship of the human body and space planning to the design process for commercial and residential spaces from programming to post-occupancy evaluation, covering topics including proxemics, anthropometrics, ergonomics, sensory components, diversity, global concerns, health and safety, environmental considerations, special populations, universal (inclusive) design, bariatric applications, hybrid offices, empathic design, biophilia, and more. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Examines issues common to commercial interior design such as the design process as well as issues specific to restaurant, office, lodging, retail, healthcare, and other facilities. Ebook also available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Covers the full range of legal, financial, management, marketing, administrative, and ethical issues faced by interior designers today and is recommended by the NCIDQ for exam preparation.

How to effectively use color in conjunction with key design principles such as balance, rhythm, emphasis, proportion, scale, unity, harmony, and variety. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Photographs, plans, and easy-to-understand descriptions illustrate practical applications for multiple building types, and highlights the principles of universal design beyond ADA requirements. Print copy also available (Call Number: NA 2545 .P5 R49 2013). Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Surveys design history, the elements and principles of design, professional practice, and more, providing an introduction to the creative, technical and business aspects of the interior design profession. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

A comprehensive survey of best practices and innovative solutions in universal design. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

How to apply sustainability to all stages of the design process. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Includes case studies demonstrating how to apply codes to various types of projects. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Considers building systems and construction methods and materials from a sustainable perspective, with case studies. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Covers site plans, floor plans, finish schedules, elevations, details, and more, for commercial and residential projects

Introduces essential drafting tools, equipment, and methods to help interior designers develop an understanding of space planning and leverage manual drafting skills to design usable and livable space. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Covers lighting system basics, lighting and the design process, human factors, sustainability, global issues, regulations, business practices, and the LEED building certification program. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Emphasizes the essential skills and knowledge required to work in a firm as an entry-level designer, while providing an overview of what is involved in starting, owning, and operating an interior design business. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Covers all aspects of sustainable design for commercial and residential interiors, including LEED certification, building materials, finishes and furnishings. Print copy also available (Call Number: TH 880 .W56 2011). Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Up-to-date guide to specifying textiles. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).