Style Guide: Modernism and the International Style

Documents Mies van der Rohe's oeuvre as furniture designer and architect in the context of his three major European projects in Stuttgart, Barcelona, Brno.

Extracts from Frank Lloyd Wright's own drawing record, newly drawn details and stunning new photography explain this masterpiece.

Features all 291 extant Wright-designed houses, a selection of floor plans and archival images, and scholarly essays.

Explores the architect's planned city, the alleged contradiction between European modernism and Indian lifestyle, and the local modernism of Chandigarh.

Examines Le Corbusier's relationship with the topographies of five continents.

Building: Fallingwater
Location: rural Pennsylvania
Architect: Frank Lloyd Wright
Time period: 1933-39
Style: organic, biophilic

Building: Farnsworth House
Location: Plano, Illinois
Architect: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
Time period: 1946-1951
Style: Modernism

Building: Getty Center
Location: Los Angeles
Architect: Richard Meier
Time period: 1997

Meier, Pulitzer Prize-winning architecture critic Ada Louise Huxtable, and key Getty administrators reflect on the construction effort and on the meaning of the Center complex itself. Images from several photographers capture the many facets of the Getty campus during construction and as completed, while Robert Irwin’s drawings illustrate his vision for the Center’s Central Garden. Full text available for free through the publisher (open access).

In the years between 1984 and 1997, photographer Joe Deal recorded the transformation of a chaparral-covered mountaintop to the travertine-covered complex of the Getty Center. Represented in this book is a selection from the resulting portfolio. Full text available for free through the publisher (open access).

Features a specially commissioned suite of photographs taken throughout the four seasons along with Johnson's original drawings.

Building: Glass House
Location: New Canaan, Connecticut
Architect: Phillip Johnson
Time period: 1949
Style: Modernism

Building: Johnson Wax Administration Building and Research Tower
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Architect: Frank Lloyd Wright
Time period: 1936-39

Building: Kimbell Art Museum
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Architect: Louis Kahn
Time period: 1966-1972

Built in Dhaka, Bangladesh (1962-83)

Building: Notre-Dame-du-Haut chapel
Location: Ronchamp, France
Architect: Le Corbusier
Time period: 1950-55
Style: Organic / Modernism

Building: Saint John's Abbey Church
Location: Collegeville, Minnesota
Architect: Marcel Breuer
Time period: 1959-1961
Style: Modernism

Following the opening of The Met Breuer, this fascinating Bulletin contextualizes the architectural masterpiece, a Brutalist icon and a work of art in its own right, known for its monumentality and stark purity of materials. Providing not just a history of the building commission, but also charting the artistic journey of Marcel Breuer from Bauhaus-educated furniture designer to world-renowned architect, this informative publication both records and contributes to the rich history surrounding Breuer and his landmark museum. Full text available for free from The Metropolitan Museum (open access).

Building: Salk Institute
Location: La Jolla, CA
Architect: Louis Kahn
Time period: 1959-1965
Style: Modernism, Brutalism

Building: Sydney Opera House
Location: Sydney, Australia
Architect: Jorn Utzon
Time period: 1959-73
Style: Expressionist

Explores the design, construction and controversies of the Sydney Opera House. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Includes a chapter on the use of light in the Sydney Opera House. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Building: Tugenhat House
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Architect: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
Time period: 1928-1930
Style: Modernism

Building: Unite d'Habitation
Location: Marseille, France
Architect: Le Corbusier and Nadir Afonso
Time period: 1945-1952
Style: Modernism

Building: The Villa La Roche and the attached Villa Jeanneret
Location: Paris, France
Architect: Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret
Time period: 1923-1925
Style: Modernism
Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Examines the buildings constructed during the decade 1920-30 to illuminate Le Corbusier's architectural philosophy and the practical processes of his material creation.

Building: Villa Mairea
Location: western Finland
Architect: Alvar Aalto
Time period: 1937-39
Style: Modernism

Examines Aalto's design conceptions, materials and methods of construction.

Presents Aalto's lectures, speeches, articles, and other writings, and 100 archival illustrations.

Building: Villa Savoye
Location: Poissy, France
Architect: Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret
Time period: 1928-1931
Style: Modernist

Also available in print in the DI Library. Digital images and plans are available in the ebook and on CD in the library.

Features projects from throughout the 20th century. Includes a CD with digital images and plans.

Features single-family houses from throughout the 20th century. Includes a CD with digital images and plans.

Focuses on commercial, residential and institutional interiors designed for existing buildings

Features multi-family housing from throughout the 20th century. Includes a CD with digital images and plans.

Explains architectural styles and traditions within their historical and technological context, describes thousands of major buildings from around the world, and includes over 2,200 photographs, plans, and drawings. Ebook also available through Bloomsbury Architecture Library (login required).

Includes detailed case studies of a Lutheran church, the Vitra Fire Station, an art gallery, the Thermal Baths bathing complex in Vals, Mies' Barcelona Pavilion, and houses from the 1920s to the 2000s.