DI Library: World Civilization (GE 373): Ancient Rome & Early Christianity

Ebooks - login required

The Roman World (ebook) by John Wacher (Editor)
Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).
The Early Christian World (ebook) by Philip F. Esler (Editor)
Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).
A Companion to Women in the Ancient World (ebook) by Sharon L. James (Editor); Sheila Dillon (Editor)
Explores a broad range of topics relating to women in antiquity, including: Mother-Goddess Theory; Women and the Family, the State, and Religion; Dress and Adornment; Hellenistic Queens; Early Women Saints; and more. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).
A Companion to the Roman Republic (ebook) by Nathan Rosenstein (Editor); Robert Morstein-Marx (Editor)
Explores the politics, economics, society, and visual culture of ancient Rome from the birth of the Roman Republic through to the death of Julius Caesar. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Late Antiquity
Includes primary sources related to the end of the Roman Empire, Roman mystery religions, and ancient philosophy
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Rome
Includes primary sources related to the Roman republic, the war with Carthage, the Roman empire, and Roman art, architecture, literature, religion, and more
The Internet Classics Archive
Includes the full text (in English) of over 400 works of classical literature, including works by Homer, Aristotle, Plato, and many more

The Aeneid by Virgil
Call Number: PA 6807 .A5 F25 2006
Tells the tale of Aeneas, who flees the ashes of Troy, travels through stormy seas and a tragic love affair, and eventually reaches Italy and founds the Roman people
Goddesses, Whores, Wives, and Slaves by Sarah Pomeroy
Call Number: HQ 1134 .P64 1995
Examines the role of women in ancient Greece and Rome
Life, Myth, and Art in Ancient Rome by Tony Allan
Call Number: DG 77 .A57 2005
An illustrated introduction to Roman culture and its art and architecture, ranging from magnificent temples and aqueducts, to exquisite mosaics and jewelry.
Lives of the Caesars by Suetonius
Call Number: DG 277 .S83 2008
Covers Julius Caesar, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Galba, Otho, Vitellius, Vespasian, Titus and Domitian
The New Oxford Annotated Apocrypha by Michael Coogan (Editor)
Call Number: BS 1692 .A1 2010
Includes the apocryphal books, written around the time of Jesus Christ but not included in most Christian Bibles, along with commentary
The New Oxford Annotated Bible: New Revised Standard Version by Michael D. Coogan (Editor)
Call Number: BS 191.5 .A1 2010
Includes the text of the Bible, along with commentary
The Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity by John McManners (Editor)
Call Number: BR 145.2 .O86 1990
Covers the history of Christianity from its beginnings during the Roman Empire through the 20th century