MID Library Hub

Covers the full range of legal, financial, management, marketing, administrative, and ethical issues faced by interior designers today and is recommended by the NCIDQ for exam preparation.

Emphasizes the essential skills and knowledge required to work in a firm as an entry-level designer, while providing an overview of what is involved in starting, owning, and operating an interior design business. Ebook also available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

This book breaks the most common design workflows down into the basic components: meetings, surveys, drawings, specifications, and renovations. For both residential and contract projects, you'll find step-by-step checklists that make it easy to follow business best practices and stay focused on the big picture.

Presents a beginner’s guide to evidence-based design in under 100 pages, starting with definitions of common terms and covering the entire process of conducting research and incorporating it into a design solution

Contains all of the essential business and legal forms that professional designers need, with step-by-step instructions, advice on standard contractual provisions, and negotiation checklists.

Provides information about establishing your own firm, different business types and structures, managing a design team, business planning, pricing, project management, working with vendors, financial management, and more. Ebook also available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Covers both the theory and the practice of evidence-based design

Design Practice Research at RMIT University is a longstanding program of research into what venturous designers actually do when they design. Two kinds of knowledge are created by the research. One concerns the ways in which designers marshal their intelligence, especially their spatial intelligence, to construct the mental space within which they practice design. The other reveals how public behaviours are invented and used to support design practice. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Those working in architecture and engineering feel pressure to work faster, at lower cost, while maintaining a high level of innovation and quality. At the same time, emergent tools and processes make this possible. Convergence is about the firms, teams and people who thrive in this environment as a result of their ability to creatively combine and innovate. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Brings together the theory and practice of design management to explain the essential steps to good management of design. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Explores how digital techniques are fundamentally changing workflows, responsibilities and business models for designers and architects. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Emphasizes the essential skills and knowledge required to work in a firm as an entry-level designer, while providing an overview of what is involved in starting, owning, and operating an interior design business. Print copy also available (Call Number: NK 2116 .W56 2013). Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Explores business organization, legal and ethical issues, and business finance and accounting practices common to the profession. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Provides information about establishing your own firm, different business types and structures, managing a design team, business planning, pricing, project management, working with vendors, financial management, and more. Print copy also available (Call Number: NK 2116 .K57 2013). Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Explores the multi-faceted world of professional design, including a history of design, the elements and principles of design, the design process, and designing 2D, 3D and virtual environments. Also covered are topics such as ergonomics, sustainability, and individual designers from a variety of disciplines. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Surveys design history, the elements and principles of design, professional practice, and more, providing an introduction to the creative, technical and business aspects of the interior design profession. Available through Fairchild Books ID Library (login required).

Delineates a pathway to design excellence, which includes establishing a forward-looking strategy and an adequate organizational structure for the design function, empowering the design team, and scaling the impact of design across the entire organization. This book takes the position that a core challenge in the journey towards design excellence is the need to recognize and balance the often-contradictory objectives and activities that design leaders encounter. Combining their practitioner experience and research, the authors provide a framework to embrace the complexity of design leadership that will elevate design at scale. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

Given the key influence design has on the way people live their lives, designing is fraught with ethical issues. Rooted in a communitarian view of design practice, this book examines design through the lens of professions, offers a critical vision for reflecting on the practice's overarching purposes, and argues for a practice-based approach to cultivate professional ethics. Available through ProQuest Ebook Central (login required).

This book focuses on the role of workplace management in the organization and the tasks that workplace management needs to consider. The 18 theories that are presented in this book and applied to workplace research discuss management aspects from the organization's perspective or dive deeper into issues related to people and/or building management. They all emphasize that workplace management is a complex matter that requires more strategic attention in order to add value for various stakeholders. Full text available for free from the publisher (open access).

Examines how the creative industries can be supported to make best use of opportunities in digital technology and data-driven innovation, and explores the challenges and opportunities of data-driven approaches to creativity in different contexts across the arts, cultural, and heritage sectors. Full text available for free from the publisher (open access).

Featuring contributors from a diverse array of backgrounds and professions, this edited book explores the difference that design and design research can make for people, organisations, and the planet to prosper now and in the future. It offers a range of ideas and techniques through practical examples and ongoing projects showing how applied design research can respond to global challenges. Full text available for free from the publisher (open access).